The Academic Senate holds elections in the spring semester of every even number year to elect Department Chairs to serve 2-year terms. As per the COCFA Bargaining Agreement (Article 12 Section K3), Department Chairs must teach at least a majority of their regular teaching load in the designated department to be eligible for selection as a department chair. In the case of multiple candidates for the position in a department with two or more full-time unit members, the Academic Senate shall conduct an election in accordance with the election procedures approved by the Academic Senate. See the Senate's Procedures for Department Chairs Election.  Only unit members with a majority of their load in a department are eligible to vote for the Chair of that department. Excluded from the above requirements are Counseling Chair and Library/Media Technology (LMTECH) Chair who shall be elected by counseling unit members and LMTECH unit members, respectively. Department Chairs will serve a term of two years and may serve multiple terms. The term shall start on the first day following the last day of instruction of the spring semester. In the case departments want to split or merge, see the Senate's Department Merger and Splitting Procedures and the Department Name Recommendation Form and Proposal


Dean 2015 ​Departments and Chairs

​School of Career Applied Technologies

Ron McFarland, Dean

​*Real Estate, VACANT

*Advanced Manufacturing, Fabrication, Manufacturing, Welding - Tim Baber, Chair

*Architecture and Interior, Design - Dorothy Minarsch, Chair

*Automotive Technology - Gary Sornborger Chair

*Engineering Technologies (Construction Technologies, Construction Management, Land Surveyng, Water Systems Technology - Regina Blasbeg, Chair


*Public Safety (Administration of Justice and Fire Technology)

*Telecommunications & electronic Systems (Computer Networking, Electronic Systems) - Lee Hillliard, Chair

School of Business

Russell Waldon, Dean

​*Business - Nicole Faudress, Interim Chair

*Computer Application & Web Technologh (CAWT) - Melanie Lipman, Chair

*Culinary Arts/Wine Studies - Cindy Schwanke, Chair

*Economics - Guilleromo Cruz, Chair

*Hoel & Restaurant Management - Kevin Anthony, Chair

*Paralegal Studies - Nicole Faudree, Chair

*Real Estate - VACANT

​School of Humanities

Jennifer Brezina, Dean

Andy McCutcheon, Interim Dean

​*American Sign Lanaguag - Debbie Sison, Chair

*Cinema - Gary Peterson, Chair

*English - Jual Buriel, Chair

*English as a Second Language - Heather MacLean, Chair

*Humanities - Adam Kaiserman, Responsible Faculty Chair

*Modern Languages (Chinese, French, German, Italian, Spanish) - Dr. Claudia Acosta, Chair

*Philosophy - Chris Blakey, Chair

School of Kinesiology/Physical Education/Atheletics Kinesiology​

Len Mohney, Dean

​*Kinesiology/Physical Education - Howard Fisher, Chair

*Recreation Management

S​chool of Student Development​

Mike Joslin, Dean

​*Cooperative Work Experience Education (CWEE) -

*Disabled Student Programs & Services -

*Extended Opportunity Programs & Services

*Health Center

School of Mathematics, Sciences and Health Professions​

Omar Torres, Dean

​Allied Health Professions:

*Certified Nursing Assistant

*Emergency Medical Technician/Health Sciences - Patt Haley, Chair

*Medical Laboratory Technician (MLT) - Hencelyn Chu, Director and Chair


Biological Sciences - Dr. Miriam Golbert, Chair Biological Sciences - Dr. Miriam Golbert, Chair

*Chemistry - Heidi McMahon, Chair

*Computer Science - Chris Ferguson, Chair

*Engineering - Dr. David Maratinez, Chair

*Earth Space & Environment Sciences


*Environmental  Science

*Geographic InformationSystems



*Physical Science

*Public Safety

*Administration of Justice - Patti Haley, Chair

*Fire Technology- Keith Kawamoto, Chair



​Social & Behavioral Sciences

Paul Wickline, Interium Dean

​*Anthropoloy - Lisa Malley, Chair

*Communication Studies - Victoria Leonard, Chair

*Education/Early Childhood Education - Renee Marshall, Chair


*Pollitical Science - David Andrus, Chair

*Psychology - Deanna Riviera, Chair



SociologySociology - Anne Marenco, Chair

​Learning Resources

James Glapa Grossklag, Dean

​*Distance Learning

*Library - Ron Karlin,Chair

*Li Media Technolgoy

​Visual & Performing Arts

Carmen Dominguez, Dean

​*Art - Michael McCaffrey, Chair

*Dance - Phylise Smith, Chair

*Graphic & Multimedia Design -Kevin Jenkins, Chair

*Media Entertainment Arts -David Brill, Chair

*Music - Dr. Bernardo feldman, Chair

*Photography - Wendy Brill-Wynkoop, Chair

*Theater - Susan Hinshaw, Chair


Student Services

​*Counseling - Albert Loaiza, Chair

*General Studies

Enrollment Services/Counseling​

Debbie Rio, Dean



*Transfer Center