Deletion of Email Messages
Following the directions on this page will delete messages from your Inbox.  This action will transfer the email from your Inbox (or other open file) and deposit it in named deletion file. MSN email will be sent to "Trashcan"; Outlook email will be sent to "Deleted Items"; and Yahoo email will be sent to "Trash."

Additional information regarding the total deletion of emails is located at the bottom of this page.

 
MSN:
  1. While the message is open, click on the "Delete" button located just above the message window.
  2. On the "Inbox" page click on the checkbox to the left of the sender's name.  Click on the "Delete" button just above the column of checkboxes.  You may click on more than one message to delete in this manner.
     
OUTLOOK:
There are three ways to delete an email message, using Outlook.
  1. While the message is still open, click the "Delete" icon, which appears as an "X" on the toolbar.
  2. While on the Inbox page, click on the checkbox to the left of the sender's name and then click on the "Delete Marked Messages" icon.  This appears as a checkmark on top of an envelope on the toolbar.
  3. On some versions of Microsoft Outlook, you can delete multiple messages at once by clicking in the checkboxes next to the column of names, then clicking the "Delete" icon.  Some versions provide for the deletions of multiple messages by clicking on the first message, then holding down the Control Key ("Ctrl") while clicking on additional messages. Finish by clicking the "Delete" icon. All selected messages will be deleted.
YAHOO:
  1. While the message is open, click on the "Delete" button located just above the message window.
  2. While on the "Inbox" page, click on the checkbox to the left of the sender's name and then click on the "Delete" button just above the column of checkboxes.  You may select one or more messages to delete them in this manner.
     
TO PERMANENTLY DELETE EMAIL MESSAGES:

MSN:
  1. Click on the "Trashcan" folder.  (If folders are not visible near the left side of the screen, click on "Show Folders," then click on "Trashcan.") You will see a prompt asking, "Are you sure you want to permanently delete all messages in this folder?"
  2. Click "OK" and the prompt will close.  The trashcan is empty.
  3. The trash is emptied several times per week, so you will not have to remember to delete trashcan items.  Items in the Trashcan do not count toward your "free account" total.
OUTLOOK:
  1. Unless you program your Outlook mail to automatically delete messages in the "Deleted Items" folder periodically, they will accumulate until you manually empty the folder.
  2. Empty to Deleted Items folder by clicking on the "Empty Deleted Items Folder" icon, illustrated by a graphic of a shredder or a trashcan.  This icon appears on the mail toolbar next to the yellow folder with a red "x.")  You may delete the contents of the folder while either in the Inbox mode or the Delete Items mode.
YAHOO:
  1. Click on the "Trash [Empty]" link on the left side of the screen.  Clicking on "Empty" will automatically delete the items from the trash.  To review the items before total deletion, click on the "Trash" link, which will open the folder of deleted items.
  2. You may empty the items while on this screen, too.  After the trash has been emptied, a new screen will read, "This folder has no messages."
  3. The trash is emptied several times per week, so you will not have to remember to delete the Trash items.  Items in the trashcan do count toward your "free account" limit.
 
 
 
 
 
updated: 1-19-07