News Release

January 24, 2002

College Trustees Appoint Bond Oversight Committee

The College of the Canyons Board of Trustees on Jan. 23 unanimously appointed 12 people to the Citizens’ Oversight Committee for Measure C bond funds. In making the appointments, the board was required to have at least seven members on the committee but chose to appoint all 12 of the citizens who applied.

Measure C passed with 68 percent of the vote under the accountability rules of Proposition 39. This law requires the district to appoint a committee to provide oversight, ensuring that bond revenues are expended only for the purposes authorized by law, on those projects specified in the bond measure, and that bond funds are not spent on teacher or administrator salaries or operating expenses.

By law, members must represent at least five categories: recognized community business organizations, senior citizens’ organization, bona fide taxpayers’ organization, Santa Clarita Community College District Associated Student Government or student governing body, and a Santa Clarita Community College District advisory committee or foundation board member. The law excludes from service any employee of the district or citizen with a potential conflict of interest, such as a vendor or contractor.

The newly appointed members, their geographic representation and the category they listed on their nomination forms include:

  • Kyle Baron, Canyon Country, member of COC’s student government
  • Michael Berger, Newhall, member of the COC Foundation
  • Monika Bucknall, Valencia, community/business & senior citizens’ organizations
  • Rita Garasi, Canyon Country
  • Erick Garcia, Castaic, COC alumnus, member of business community
  • Jill Harper, Canyon Country, member of senior citizens committee
  • Mike Lebecki, Stevenson Ranch, member of business organization
  • Deborah Lynn Weigel Roberts, Valencia, college student decision-making body
  • Joe Robinson, Canyon Country
  • Doug Sink, Valencia, Chamber of Commerce
  • Roy Weygand, Bakersfield, bona fide taxpayer association
  • Sheldon Wigdor, Canyon Country

Measure C was passed by voters on Nov. 6, 2001, providing $82.1 million for much-needed construction of new facilities and renovation of the COC campus.

Members of the committee shall serve an initial term of two years. The committee will elect its chair, vice-chair and secretary. It is anticipated that meetings will be convened at least twice a year and that the committee will issue reports at least once each year.

Meetings will be open and the dates, times and locations publicized. Members of the public are welcome and encouraged to attend.​