Archival News Release
This News Release is outdated and posted here for archival purposes only.​​​​​​​​​​

November 24, 2014

Athletic Department to Host Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Jan. 30

The College of the Canyons Athletic Department has announced its 2015 Hall of Fame class of inductees, with the college’s bi-annual Athletic Hall of Fame dinner and induction ceremony taking place Friday, Jan. 30, 2015 in the lobby of the Dr. Dianne G. Van Hook University Center.

The 2015 class of inductees includes:
  • Chip Chavez — Meritorious Service
  • Jim Luster — Wrestling, 1974-76
  • Frank Halcovich — Baseball, 1985-86
  • Dana Rattler — Track & Field, 2005-06
  • Avon Riley — Football, 1977-78
“I am honored and excited to introduce the college’s 2015 class of Athletic Hall of Fame inductees,” said Len Mohney, dean of athletics and physical education. “Each of this year’s honorees achieved a unique set of athletic accomplishments during their respective time at the college, while also representing the ideals of COC Athletics — hard work, determination, sportsmanship and a commitment to excellence. We are proud to honor them in this manner.”

Tickets to the Athletic Hall of Fame dinner and induction ceremony are $75 per guest, with all proceeds benefiting the college’s athletic programs.

The event begins at 5:30 p.m. with no-host cocktails, followed by dinner served promptly at 6 p.m.

The evening’s main program will begin at 7 p.m. and feature a special presentation for each of this year’s inductees, highlighting their career achievements as student-athletes at College of the Canyons.

As in past years, friends, family members and former teammates of the inductees — as well as all fellow COC Alumni — are encouraged to help the Athletic Department honor its 2015 Hall of Fame class.

Space at this event will be limited, with attendees kindly asked to RSVP prior to Monday, Jan. 12, 2015.

For more information or to purchase tickets, visit​ or call (661) 362-3434.​