Archival News Release
This News Release is outdated and posted here for archival purposes only.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Release No. COC-12.18.15-SilverSpur16
December 18, 2015

College to Honor Mellady with Silver Spur Award on March 19

With a natural willingness to commit her time, energy and professional expertise to serve the Santa Clarita Valley’s most important civic institutions and non-profit organizations, Jill Mellady has displayed her steadfast dedication to this community time and time again.

As a result, the College of the Canyons Foundation is proud to honor Mellady’s tireless devotion to community leadership, advocacy and volunteerism with the 2016 ‘Silver Spur’ Award for Community Service. 

“Jill serves as an example of the difference that one person can make by giving from the heart,” said College of the Canyons Chancellor Dr. Dianne Van Hook. “Her commitment to give back is amazing, and I know her support of College of the Canyons stems from a desire to create for others the opportunities she experienced as a student.”  

Mellady has worked tirelessly for the benefit of the Santa Clarita Valley, its residents and the local business community.

She currently serves on the boards of the SCV Sheriff’s Foundation, Santa Clarita Valley Family YMCA, the College of the Canyons Foundation, as well as the executive board of both the Valley Industry Association (VIA) and the Postal Council Commission for the Sierra Coastal District, which represents approximately 8,300 postal employees and their partners.

Mellady has also previously served on the boards of the Child & Family Center of SCV, the Michael Hoefflin Foundation for Children’s Cancer, the National Association of Women Business Owners, the SCV Repertory Theatre and the United Way SCV Advisory Board. 

Mellady has been named Volunteer of the Year by the Michael Hoefflin Foundation and has previously been nominated for SCV Woman of the Year. She is also founder of the SCV Nonprofit Leadership Committee and is a member of the SCV Chamber of Commerce.

No matter the venue, she brings her skills as an accomplished marketing professional to each of her volunteer and leadership roles, working to help organizations better reach the community, share their messages and expand their ability to assist local residents. 

In 1986, Mellady and her husband, Jim, founded Mellady Direct Marketing, which has grown to become a valuable community asset. 

Earlier this year the company was named the SCV Business of the Year by VIA. In 2014, Mellady Direct Marketing was also named Small Business of the Year at the SCV Leadership Awards.

At College of the Canyons, Mellady – a former business administration student – now serves on the COC Foundation’s board of directors, having remained a loyal friend to the college throughout her professional career.

From 2009 to 2012 Mellady served as COC Foundation board chair. During her time on the board Mellady also helped lead the college’s Culinary Institute capital campaign and was a member of the college’s Measure M Citizens Oversight Committee, while continually serving as a strong community advocate for many of the college’s key initiatives over the past decade.

She is a member of the COC Alumni Hall of Fame and current chair of the college’s Chancellor’s Circle, composed of prominent community leaders, alumni members and local corporations that are dedicated to seeing the continued success of College of the Canyons.

The 2016 Silver Spur Celebration will take place Saturday, March 19, 2016, at The Sheraton Universal Starview Room, located at 333 Universal Hollywood Drive, in Universal City.

The festivities begin at 6 p.m. with music, cocktails and hors d’oeuvres, with guests able to enjoy a breathtaking view of the city lights from the 21st floor Starview Room. The evening will also include dinner and a live auction featuring a selection of unique items.

Previous recipients of the Silver Spur award include: The Newhall Family; Remo and Ami Belli, Barry and Pati Gump, Richard and Marian Sandnes, Diana Cusumano, Myrna and Gary Condie, Harold and Jacquie Petersen, Wayne Crawford, Rita Garasi, Tom Veloz, Charlotte and Frank Kleeman, Gary Cusumano, Jay and Joyce Rodgers, Tom Lee, Lou Garasi, Michael Berger, Roberta Veloz, Dick Luechtefeld, Robert Ormsby, LaVerne Harris, John Hoskinson, Tom Dierckman, Scott and Ruth Newhall, Elisha “Aggie” Agajanian and Cliffie Stone.

For more information about the 2016 Silver Spur Award Ceremony, or to purchase tickets or become an event sponsor please contact the College of the Canyons Foundation at (661) 362-3737.