History of the Social Science and Business Division

With the inception of the College in 1969, the departments of Anthropology, Business, Economics, History, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology were created. Computer Information Technology soon followed in 1974, as did Communication Studies in 1988; however, it was originally housed in the Division of Humanities. Real Estate was established in 1989. Paralegal Studies, the newest of the departments in the Division, was created in 2005.

Dr. Nancy Smith served as Division Chair of the Division of Social Science for 20 years. During this time, she supervised Social Science departments, as well as Physical Education and Counseling. Organizational restructuring occurred in 2000 as the Division Chair was replaced with the fulltime position of Division Dean. With this change, additional divisions were created, and SSB eventually lost Physical Education, Early Childhood Education, Fire Technology, and Administration of Justice. Dr. Smith served as Interim Dean of Instruction and was later promoted to VP of Academic Affairs.

As a result, Dr. Patty Robinson served as Interim Dean of SSB and Chair of Sociology from 2005-2007 and then as Dean beginning fall 2007 to the present. Currently, the SSB Division consists of 38 fulltime and almost 108 active adjunct instructors, not including approximately 30 more who make-up an additional adjunct pool. Division faculty hold M.A. and Ph.D. degrees from some of the nation’s most prestigious colleges and universities.