National Dietary Guidelines
Every 5 years or so, the US government reviews the current knowledge about nutrition and health and publishes Dietary Guidelines for the nation. The 6th edition of the guidelines (which was released in 2005) conveys the following nine main messages:
  • Consume a variety of foods within and among the basic food groups while staying within energy needs.
  • Control calorie intake to manage body weight.
  • Be physically active every day.
  • Increase daily intake of fruits and vegetables, whole grains, and nonfat or low-fat milk and milk products.
  • Choose fats wisely for good health.
  • Choose carbohydrates wisely for good health.
  • Choose and prepare foods with little salt.
  • If you drink alcoholic beverages, do so in moderation.
  • Keep food safe to eat.
The dietary guideline website has a detailed description of the 2005 Dietary Guidelines for Americans.

Food Guide Pyramid
The original Food Guide Pyramid (below) was developed in 1992 by the US government to serve as a visual representation of national dietary guidelines. This pyramid was recently revised to better reflect the most current guidelines. The new pyramid was released in April 2005.
Out with the Old... In with the NEW...
Old food pyramid New food pyramid
Go to the food pyramid website to get a detailed description of the 2005 Food Guide Pyramid and how to make it work for you.

Sheri Barke, MPH, RD 
COC, Student Health & Wellness Center
Rev. 2005