March 15, 2017

TO: Dr. Dianne Van Hook, Chancellor

FROM: Peter Hepburn, Dr. Jerry Buckley, Co-Chairs, Academic Staffing

CC: Academic Staffing Committee Members
Dr. Rebecca Eikey, President, Academic Senate
Ron McFarland, Dean, Applied Technologies
Jason Oliver, Dept. Chair, Architecture and Interior Design
Paul Wickline, Dean, Social and Behavioral Sciences
Sherrill Pennington, Dept. Chair, History
Omar Torres, Dean, Mathematics, Sciences, and Health Professions
Tina Waller, Dept. Chair, Nursing
Carmen Dominguez, Dean, Visual and Performing Arts
Susan Hinshaw, Dept. Chair, Theatre
Chris Boltz, designated presenter, Theatre

RE: Academic Staffing Committee recommendations

The Academic Staffing Committee (ASC) met and reviewed the following upcoming vacant full-time positions:

- Interior Design (Dorothy Minarsch)
- History (Brad Reynolds)
- Nursing (Ann Lowe)
- Theatre (Paul Wickline)

at its March 15, 2017 meeting. The ASC reviewed staffing data and materials from the above departments. ASC recommended all vacant positions for replacement in a majority vote.

At the February meeting of the committee, the members discussed with you changing how to recommend action on vacant funded positions so that those positions would be ranked amongst requests for new positions. The committee has not yet been able to revise its procedures and have those changes approved by Senate in order to allow ranking vacant funded positions in that manner. To remain consistent with previous votes on other vacant funded positions this academic year, the recommendation to replace is all the committee voted on.

If you would like any further information we will be happy to meet with your at your convenience.

Thank you, Peter Hepburn Dr. Jerry Buckley