

COLLEGE OF THE CANYONS ACADEMIC SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING May 19, 2022 11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

SUMMARY

<u>Attendees</u>: David Andrus, Katie Coleman, Alisha Kaminsky, Nicole Faudree, Garrett Rieck, Marilyn Jimenez, Julie Johnson, Gary Collis, Claudia Acosta, Lisa Hooper, David Andrus proxy for Claudia Acosta, Gary Collis proxy for Chris Blakey, Katie Coleman proxy for Robert Wonser.

A. Routine Matters

- 1. Call to order: 11:06 am
- 2. Public Comment: none
- 3. Approval of the Agenda:
 - Motion to approve the agenda by Lisa Hooper, seconded by Gary Collis. Gary Collis proxy for Chris Blakey (yes), Garrett Rieck proxy for Miriam Golbert (yes), Katie Coleman proxy for Robert Wonser (yes.) Unanimous. Approved.

B. Consent Calendar

- 1. Adoption of April 14, 2022 Ex. Comm. Summary (pg. 3-5)
 - i. Motion to approve the agenda by Alisha Kaminsky, seconded by Lisa Hooper. Gary Collis proxy for Chris Blakey (yes), Garrett Rieck proxy for Miriam Golbert (yes), Katie Coleman proxy for Robert Wonser (yes.) Unanimous. Approved.

C. Reports:

1. Academic Senate Presidents Report: none

D. Action:

- 1. Academic Senate Faculty Award Deliberations Guidelines (pg. 6)
- 2. Academic Senate Faculty Award Deliberations and Voting
 - Motion to adopt deliberation guidelines by Claudia Acosta, seconded by Julie Johnson. Gary Collis proxy for Chris Blakey (yes), Garrett Rieck proxy for Miriam Golbert (yes), Katie Coleman proxy for Robert Wonser (yes.) Unanimous. Approved.

E. Discussion

- 1. Committee Needs? Future Business?
- 2. There were no motions made for approval of the awards as those had been approved previously. The committee did deliberate and vote separately for the following nominated recipients:
 - I. Excellence in Education Award Rubric Adjunct Faculty

- a. One Adjunct Faculty member was nominated: Angeli Francois.
- b. Votes were collected via the chat window. Gary Collis proxy for Chris Blakey (yes), Garrett Rieck proxy for Miriam Golbert (abstained), Katie Coleman proxy for Robert Wonser (yes.) Approved.
- c. Angeli Francois recipient of the Excellence in Education Award.

II. Excellence in Education Award for Full-Time Faculty

- a. Three full-time faculty received nominations for the award (Regina Blasberg, Anne Marenco, and Liz Shaker,)
- b. Votes were collected via the chat window. Approved.
- c. Liz Shaker recipient of the Excellence in Education Award.

III. Diversity Award for Adjunct Faculty

- a. Two Adjunct-Faculty received nominations for the award (Angeli Francois and Preeta Saxena.
- b. Votes were collected via the participants window. Gary Collis proxy for Chris Blakey (yes), Garrett Rieck proxy for Miriam Golbert (abstained), Katie Coleman proxy for Robert Wonser (yes.) Unanimous. Approved.
- c. Angeli Francois recipient of the Diversity Award
- d. Votes were collected via the participants window. Gary Collis proxy for Chris Blakey (yes), Garrett Rieck proxy for Miriam Golbert (yes), Katie Coleman proxy for Robert Wonser (yes.) David Andrus Proxy for Claudia Acosta (Yes). Unanimous. Approved.
- e. Preeta Saxena recipient of the Diversity Award.

IV. Diversity Award for Full-Time Faculty

- a. One full-time faculty received a nomination for the award: Pamela Williams-Paez
- b. Votes were collected via the participants window. Gary Collis proxy for Chris Blakey (yes), Garrett Rieck proxy for Miriam Golbert (yes), Katie Coleman proxy for Robert Wonser (yes.) David Andrus Proxy for Claudia Acosta (Yes). Unanimous. Approved.
- c. Pamela Williams-Paez recipient of the Diversity Award.
- V. <u>AS Collegiality and Campus Citizenship Faculty Award 1 Full-Time Faculty</u> <u>Nomination:</u>
 - a. One full-time faculty received a nomination for the award: Hernan Ramirez:
 - b. Votes were collected via the participants window. Gary Collis proxy for Chris Blakey (yes), Garrett Rieck proxy for Miriam Golbert (yes), Katie Coleman proxy for Robert Wonser (yes.) David Andrus Proxy for Claudia Acosta (Yes). Unanimous. Approved
 - c. Hernan Ramirez recipient of the AS Collegiality and Campus Citizenship Faculty Award.

VI. Exemplary Program Award Full-Time & Adjunct Faculty

a. Two programs were nominated for this award: (Kevin Anthony (Inst. For Ethics, Law and Public Policy) & [Julie Johnson and Robert

Wonser - Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL)]

- b. Votes were collected via the participants window. Gary Collis proxy for Chris Blakey (yes), Garrett Rieck proxy for Miriam Golbert (yes), Katie Coleman proxy for Robert Wonser (yes.) Lisa Hooper (Abstained), David Andrus Proxy for Claudia Acosta (Yes). Alisha Kaminsky (yes). Unanimous. Approved
- c. Julie Johnson & Robert Wonser (CETL Program) recipients of the Exemplary Award Program.

VII. Governance Award Full-Time & Adjunct Faculty

- a. One faculty member was nominated for this award: Nicole Faudree:
- b. Votes were collected via the participants window. Gary Collis proxy for Chris Blakey (yes), Garrett Rieck proxy for Miriam Golbert (yes), Katie Coleman proxy for Robert Wonser (yes.) David Andrus Proxy for Claudia Acosta (Yes). Lisa Hooper (Abstained). Alisha Kaminsky (yes). Unanimous. Approved.
- c. Nicole Faudree recipient of the Governance Award.

I. International Education Award

a. No nominations received.

E. Unfinished Business

F. Announcements

- a. Next Academic Senate Meeting Spring 2022: May 26th
- <u>ASCCC 2022 Faculty Leadership Institute-</u> June 16th 18th, 2022, Hybrid Event *Subject to change*
- c. <u>ASCCC 2022 Curriculum Institute</u>- July 6th July 9th, 2022, Hybrid Event *Subject to change*
- G. Adjournment: 12:15 pm.