

# COLLEGE OF THE CANYONS ACADEMIC SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING **November 17, 2022** 11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

## Summary

<u>Attendees</u>: Alisha Kaminsky, Christopher Blakey, Dr. Claudia Acosta, David Andrus, Garrett Rieck, Gary Collis, Gary Quire, Julie Johnson, Katie Coleman, Marilyn Jimenez, Sarah Ethridge, Teresa Ciardi & Tricia George.

#### A. Routine Matters

- 1. Call to order: 11:15am
- 2. Public Comment: none
- 3. Approval of the Agenda:
  - I. Motion to approve the agenda by Claudia Acosta, seconded by Chris Blakey. Unanimous. Approved.

## B. Consent Calendar

- 1. Adoption of October 20, 2022 Ex. Comm. Summary (pg. 3-6)
  - I. Motion the consent calendar by Gary Quire, seconded by Garrett Rieck. Unanimous. Approved.

## C. Reports:

1. Academic Senate Presidents Report: none

## D. Action:

- 1. Local Faculty Award Documents
  - a. Academic Senate Standing Policy on Faculty Awards (Proposed Revisions) (pg. 7-8)
    - I. The standing policy was listed on the Nov. 17<sup>th</sup> Academic Senate Agenda
  - b. 2022/23 Proposed Award Timeline (pg. 9)
  - c. Executive Committee Deliberations Guidelines (Adopted Spring, 2022) (pg. 10)
    - I. Motion to approve all 3 items action by Julie Johnson, seconded by Sarah Ethridge. Unanimous. Approved.

## 2. 2023 ASCCC Hayward Award

- a. Liz Shaker (FT)
- b. Angeli Francois (PT)
  - I. The Hayward award is the Excellence in Education and does not focus on teaching. Angeli Francois was nominated for both the Hayward and Stanback awards.
  - II. The suggestion from the committee was to forward more than one local nominee to the state as colleges are allowed to submit 1 F/T and 1 P/T. A packet will need to be submitted as a testament to their work. It was mentioned that there may be some faculty who may not

want to be nominated. While this award is 2023 it is honoring the 2022 year.

- III. The Hayward award is due Dec. 15<sup>th</sup>.
- IV. Motion to forward both by Teresa Ciardi, seconded by Dr. Claudia Acosta. Unanimous. Approved.

## 3. 2023 ASCCC Stanback Stroud Diversity Award

- a. Pamela Williams-Paez (FT)
- b. Angeli Francois (PT)
- c. Preeta Saxena (PT)
  - i. As a reminder the Program Award had a theme at the state level, and this couldn't be aligned at the local level.
  - ii. Last year there were two local award recipients. Angeli helped to write the *Emerging Leader's* course and has the intention to continue teaching this class in an online format. Both Pamela Williams Paez and Angeli have worked on closing equity gaps and have served on DEI and IE2 groups. Angeli has been chairing a faculty inquiry group for IE2.
  - iii. The Diversity award is due Feb. 5<sup>th</sup> and faculty will be off contract. In the procedures it is written to forward a local award recipient to the state. Pamela was the driving force for the local diversity requirement. The committee unanimously supported forwarding Pamela to the state for statewide award consideration. It was stated that this not meant as disrespect to the P/T faculty.
  - iv. Motion to advance Pamela Williams-Paez as a nominee for a statewide award by Chris Blakey, seconded by Claudia Acosta. Unanimous. Approved.
- E. Local Award Criteria/Announcements (Proposed Revisions)
  - This packet was previously shared with the entire campus. This packet includes the criteria and rubrics for all six awards, Excellence in Education, Diversity, Program, International Education, Governance, and the Collegiality awards.
  - II. Regarding the Excellence in Education Award there may be some faculty who are great educators but may not be involved in other areas on campus. It was recommended to reword to read as a "commitment to students" and not "COC." How is being a good education defined?
  - III. For the reminder awards, the word "automatically" was removed as people will be "considered" instead. There needs to be a narrative from the nominating party. It is not clear what the minimum documentation may be. The committee needs to develop a narrative for final scores and the committee prefers a more generic rubric. The committee used rubrics and the suggestion is to use them again. The ability for faculty to nominate themselves was taken out to ensure a sense of integrity.
  - IV. The award nomination will need to be shared by the end of February.

#### F. Unfinished Business

#### G. Announcements

- <u>Next Academic Senate Meeting Fall 2022</u>: Nov. 17<sup>th</sup>, Dec. 8<sup>th</sup>, 2022. <u>Spring 2022</u>: Feb. 9<sup>th</sup>, Feb. 23<sup>rd</sup>, March 9<sup>th</sup>, March 23<sup>rd</sup>, April 13<sup>th</sup>, April 27<sup>th</sup>, May 11<sup>th</sup> & May 25<sup>th</sup>
- <u>2023 ASCCC Curriculum Institute-Hybrid Event:</u> July 12<sup>th</sup> 15<sup>th</sup>, 2023, Riverside Convention Center in Riverside.
- <u>2023 ASCCC Faculty Leadership Institute</u>: June 15<sup>th</sup>-17<sup>th</sup>, 2023, Westin San Francisco Airport Hotel.
- <u>2023 ASCCC Spring Plenary Sessions</u>: April 20<sup>th</sup> -22<sup>nd</sup>, 2023, Double Tree by Hilton Hotel Anaheim, Orange County
- H. Adjournment: 12:05 pm.