

COLLEGE OF THE CANYONS ACADEMIC SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

October 1, 2019 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. BONH-330

SUMMARY

Attendees: Wendy Brill, Regina Blasberg, Erika Torgeson, Aivee Ortega, Jason Burgdorfer, Marilyn Jimenez, Gary Quire, David Andrus, Lisa Hooper, Miriam Golbert, Dustin Silva (via Zoom), Rebecca Eikey, Claudia Acosta

A. Routine Matters

- 1. Call to order:10:06am
- 2. Public Comment: none
- 3. Approval of the Agenda: Motion to approve the agenda by Miriam Golbert, seconded by Wendy Brill. Unanimous. Approved.

B. Reports

- 1. President Report, Rebecca Eikey
 - A draft resolution for transgender students will be created and brought through senate regarding a lack of gender neutral restrooms on campus. Rebecca has reached out to Jess Love. A tally of all restrooms will be done at the Equity Minded Practitioners meeting. Most restrooms are only labeled for employees. The focus is on students and ensuring their needs are met.
 - A Governance Council meeting has been scheduled for Monday October 1st at 12pm. Discussion will take place regarding what is a governance council and look at other colleges examples to develop a proposal for our college locally.
- 2. Vice President Report, Jason Burgdorfer
 - A faculty work group will be put together ensure faculty representation and input relating to facilities planning.

C. Action

- 1. Ad Hoc Office Procedures Committee Recommendation
 - No Action needed. The committee reviewed the Ad-hoc Office Procedure Committee Recommendation and accepted it.

D. Discussion

- 1. Goals for the Academic Year
 - The purpose of this item is to discuss the goals of the committees and how they align with the goals of the Academic Senate.
 - The Senate Office Procedures need to be revisited and there are some items which can be moved from the Constitution to the Bylaws. In addition, there are some changes which took place with the Election's Committee Procedures which need to be included in the Constitution. The committee decided to reform the Constitution & Bylaws Committee. The committee will be chaired by Rebecca Eikey and members will include, Lisa Hooper, Wendy Brill, Regina Blasberg, Jason Burgdorfer, David Andrus and Dustin Silva.
 - There was a request to have the Academic Calendar Committee report out to Senate.

E. Adjourned: 11:10am