Skip to main contentSkip to footer

College of the Canyons Spring Student Symposium (SSS) 2021

Spring Student Symposium will be on Friday, May 7th, 2021 via Zoom
(Deadline for submissions April 23rd, 2021)

  • Please see Application link on the right. Full instructions and sample templates are available on the application page.

What is the SSS?

This is a campus-wide academic conference that is open to any COC student. The theme is Human/Animal/Environmental Rights and students can present research as a PowerPoint presentation with guided narrative, academic poster presentation, art piece, or creative writing. Please note: at this year's event students will not be presenting live. Instead, projects will be uploaded to a virtual Exhibit Hall, where people can view them and submit questions. The May 7th event will have Zoom rooms where students will engage in a Q&A about their posted projects. These will be moderated by an instructor. 

SSS 2018

SSS 2019

Important Dates:

Applications open February 22nd (submit answers to the 5 posted questions) via application link (on right)

Applications close March 28th

Final project submission deadline April 23rd 

All projects will be uploaded to a virtual Exhibition Hall (open May 1st). Anyone can view posted projects

Check this website starting May 3rd to find the Zoom link for your specific discussion session 

Event May 7th

Five monetary prizes were available ($200 prizes for the top project in each of the five categories). These were selected by a panel of judges.  

2021 Award Winners:

Category: Social Welfare - winner Brianna Barrientos

Name: “The Sushinsky Social Welfare Award” ($200)

Category: Environmental Rights - winner Kathryn Kidney

Name: “The Sushinsky Environmental Rights Award” ($200)

Category: Mental Autonomy - winner Linnea Grand Hansen

Name: “Matthew Delgado Memorial Scholarship” ($200)

Category: Animal Rights - winner Rhiannon Marin-Proud

Name: “Juana Hernandez Memorial Scholarship” ($200)

Category: Physical Liberty - winner Alex Kaylor

Name: “Egil Frederick Nerland Memorial Scholarship” ($200)