Skip to main contentSkip to footer

Intergrative Learning, Civic, and Community Engagement Work Group

I. Mission Statement The Civic Engagement Initiative at College of the Canyons fosters civic knowledge, social responsibility, civility, and mutual respect among the campus community to transform self and society. Civic literacy is enhanced through campus and community partnerships which emphasize the public good at local, national, and global levels and helps to create citizens of the world. Civic scholarship can be achieved through a variety of methods, such as critical thinking, reflection, community-based learning, and service-learning, available through curricular and co-curricular activities.
II. Vision Statement The Civic Engagement Initiative at College of the Canyons is dedicated to bridging theory with practice to create a civic-minded culture which fosters democratic thought and action for the public good. Fostering collaboration, volunteerism, and critical thinking, students, faculty, staff, and community will serve as civic leaders to bring attention of social issues to others. Through social awareness, an empowered citizenry can confront issues of inequity facing person, place, and environment. Emphasizing the use of High Impact Practices (HIPs) throughout curricular and co-curricular activities, opportunities to build inclusion and unity are enhanced.
III. Philosophy Demonstrate an understanding of civic knowledge, diversity, and equity by exercising a philosophy of civic engagement, personal leadership, and social responsibility to confront community, national, and global issues in order to foster the public good. 

Operating ProceduresCivic Engagement Steering Committee Operating Procedures

Meets: Committee meets on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 3:00pm-5:00pm in HSLH-135 (temporarily via zoom)

Members: Committee Faculty Chair:

  • Patty Robinson,Faculty Co-Chair/Faculty Director and Community Engagement Initiatives
  • Jessica Edmond, Faculty Co-Chair/Adjunct Professor, ESL

Faculty Appointments:

  • Ally Loprete, SBS (Adjunct)
  • Anne Marenco, SBS
  • Chase Dimock, Humanities
  • Linda Vasquez, Humanities (Adjunct)
  • Lisa Malley, MSE
  • Teresa Ciardi, MSHP-MSE
  • Tricia Foley, MSE

Other Members:

  • Amber Cole, Director of Grants Development
  • Andy McCutheion, Dean, School of Humanities & SBS
  • Flavio Medina-Martin, Director, Diversity & Inclusion