Many students arrive at community college without clear goals for college and career. Once there, they often receive little guidance prior to matriculation, do not meet with an advisor at the college, and accumulate many course credits that do not count toward their eventual program of studyor they drop out of college before selecting a program (Rosenbaum, Schuetz, & Foran, 2010; Zeidenberg, 2012).


To begin to address these kinds of issues and to help students reach their completion goals, College of the Canyons has created structured pathways that allow students to explore their educational and career options while also making progress toward a credential.


The pathways for each program within School of Social and Behavioral Sciences are listed below. Please work closely with your counselor and contact the department chair for the program if you have any questions.

 

Departments Department Chair Pathway
Communication Studies

Tammera Stokes-Rice

Tammera.Rice@canyons.edu 

Communication Studies - AA

Communication Studies - AA-T

Early Childhood Education

Cindy Stephens

Cindy.Stephens@canyons.edu 

Early Childhood Education - AS-T
History

Sherrill Pennington

Sherrill.Pennington@canyons.edu 

History AA-T (U.S./Latin America Focus)

History AA-T (World/Asian Focus)

Political Science

David Andrus

David.Andrus@canyons.edu 

Political Science - AA-T
Psychology

Deanna Riveira

Deanna.Riveira@canyons.edu 

Psychology - AA-T
Sociology

Katie Coleman

Katie.Coleman@canyons.edu 

Sociology - AA-T (Criminology Focus)

Sociology - AA-T (Family Focus)

Sociology - AA-T (General Focus)

Sociology - AA-T (Social Justice Focus)