Zoom bombing and what you can do.

You may have seen recent information in the news regarding 'Zoom Bombing', which quite simply is uninvited participants dropping into meetings uninvited and attempting to disrupt the attendees. Because of the large push to online education, this attempt to disrupt classes can be combated by following the information below.  

Instructions on configuring Zoom to prevent "zoom bombing".

Video instructions are also available: Securing your Zoom room. 

Open your ConferZoom account settings page and change the following

 

How to Avoid the “ZoomBomb”

These changes to the default settings are recommended for anyone who is hosting Zoom conferences open to the public or with children attending. Changing these settings will help you keep control of your meeting and focus on your content.

 

Join before host

The participants could be having a party without you there to monitor.

Recommendation: Turn off

Join before host - turn off

 

Mute participants upon entry

Barking dogs and crying babies can take over your meeting unintentionally. So can the participant who is singing their favorite heavy metal song at the top of their voice.

You might also consider disallowing participants to unmute themselves. In that case participants can use the “Raise hand” feature or the chat room to indicate when they want to speak. You can manually unmute them.

Recommendation: Turn on

Mute participants upon entry - Turn on

 

Private chat

The chatroom is one of the key ways to get live feedback and participation with your participants. We want to see all the communication that is happening. Disabling private chat will help tamp down any possible bullying or harassment during your meeting. They can use discord or text messages if they need a backchannel.

Recommendation: Turn off

Private Chat - Turn off

 

File transfer

The ability to send files to your participants is very handy for you. Not so helpful if the participants are sending inappropriate (even unintentionally) files/gifs/images to the group. Put your files on Google Drive, Dropbox, 3C Media, etc. and give them download links.

Recommendation: Turn off

File transfer - Turn off

 

Allow host to put attendee on hold

Sometimes participants have environmental consideration that require you to step in and pause them. The participant could have someone enter the room. They could have a TV running behind them. They might have forgotten to dress appropriately…

Recommendation: Turn on

Allow host to put attendee on hold - Turn on

 

Screen sharing

Your company department meeting is a great place for colleagues to share their business work with the group. Your classroom might not be. Participants can take over the session share and put anything they would like on screen for all in attendance. You can make a participant a co-host if you would like someone else to share their screen.

Recommendation: Turn on “Host Only”

Screen Sharing - Turn on "Host Only"

 

Disable desktop/screen share for users

We don’t need to see the personal photos and information of your co-host when they share. This setting will enable them to share an Application (Powerpoint, Firefox, Chrome, Powershell, etc.) only. You should consider only sharing applications yourself.

Recommendation: Turn on

Disable desktop/screen share for users - Turn on

 

Annotation

Annotation gives you the ability to “draw” over the screen. It also gives that to your participants. They can draw anything that comes to mind over your presentation, your face, or anything else.

Recommendation: Turn off

Annotation - Turn off

 

Remote control

This is a handy support feature in a 1:1 session. You don’t want participants constantly requesting remote control of your desktop during meetings.

Recommendation: Turn off

Remote Control - Turn off

 

Allow removed participants to rejoin

When you kick someone out of your meeting for any reason, they shouldn't’t be able to come back.

Recommendation: Turn off

Allow removed participants to rejoin - Turn off

 

Waiting room

This is perhaps the most useful feature to help control your meeting or classroom. All participants will enter the waiting room before joining the main session. This allows you to let participants in as you are ready to receive them.

Recommendation: Turn on and customize

Waiting room - Turn on and customize

 

Optional – Consider locking your meeting once everyone is in attendance.

Allow participants to unmute themselves - Turn off