Home  |  Current Agenda  |  Meetings  |  Policies  |  Elections  |  Contact

Member Profiles

Edel Alonso

Dr. Edel Alonso

  • Elected in 2016
  • Community resident since 1987
  • Retired counselor and professor, College of the Canyons 1999 to 2015
  • B.A. in Modern Languages: Spanish and French, Montclair State University, N.J.
  • M.A. in Counseling, Loyola Marymount University
  • Ed.D. in Organizational Leadership, La Verne University
  • Former counselor, Hart High School and Valencia High School
  • Former adjunct faculty in Masters Counseling Program, University of La Verne
  • Former member CTA and chair, Civil Rights in Education Committee of CTA State Council
  • Former president of Academic Senate, College of the Canyons
  • Former co-chair of Presidents Advisory Committee on Budget, College of the Canyons


Michael Berger

Mr. Michael D. Berger

  • Elected in 2009
  • Senior vice president and financial consultant, Smith Barney
  • Twenty-eight years of financial management experience
  • Twenty-year member and past president, COC Foundation Board of Directors
  • Former member, Santa Clarita Planning Commission
  • Member and past president, SCV Chamber of Commerce
  • Member and past president, SCV Rotary Club
  • Finance chairman, Child & Family Center
  • 2000 COC Silver Spur honoree for community service
  • Member, Michael Hoefflin Foundation for Children's Cancer Board of Directors
  • Chair, University Center Capital Campaign Major Gift Committee
  • Chairman, COC Foundation Advisory Board
  • Member, Citizens Oversight Committees for Bond Measures C and M
  • Member, Loyola Marymount College of Business Administration Advisory Council
  • 2006 Santa Clarita Valley Man of the Year
  • Graduate of College of the Canyons


Sebastian Cazares

Mr. Sebastian Cazares

  • Elected in 2020
  • Graduate of College of the Canyons
  • Served as president of COC's Associated Student Government
  • Served on COC's Independent Citizens Bond Oversight Committee
  • Graduate of Saugus High School
  • Lifelong Saugus resident

Michele Jenkins

Ms. Michele R. Jenkins

  • Elected in 1984
  • Community resident since 1964
  • Manages three-physician family medical practice
  • High school diploma, Wm. S. Hart High School
  • A.A., College of the Canyons
  • B.A., Anthropology, UCLA
  • M.A., Counseling, University of North Dakota
  • Two children attended College of the Canyons
  • Spouse, Dr. Gregory Jenkins, received A.A. in first graduating class at COC
  • 2000 co-recipient (with spouse) of COC's Outstanding Alumni Award
  • Member, California Community College Trustees Board of Directors, 1994-2005
  • Member, Community College League of California Board of Directors, 2003-2005
  • President, CCCT Board and CCLC Board, 2004-2005


Joan MacGregor

Ms. Joan W. MacGregor

  • Elected in 1993
  • Three-time president of Board of Trustees
  • Community resident since 1969
  • Former member, COC Foundation Board of Directors
  • Member, Canyon Country Site Selection Advisory Committee
  • Founding Patron of the Performing Arts Center
  • Vice president, Valley Oaks Properties Inc. real estate brokerage
  • Past trustee, Sulphur Springs Union School District (20 years)
  • Founder of SCV Trustees Association; PTA president, SCV PTA Council president