Skip to main contentSkip to footer

2024-2026 Department Chairs 


Academic Innovation and Continuing Education, Personal and Professional Learning

Dean - Ms. Dianne Avery, 661.362.3376
Administrative Assistant - Ms. Angel Robinson, 661.362.3073

Department Name/Title Email Direct Number
Personal & Professional Learning Garrett Rieck garrett.rieck@canyons.edu (661) 362-3770

Applied Technologies

Dean - Dr. Nadia Cotti, 661.362.3408
Administrative Assistant - Ms. Linda Malik, 661.362.3131

Department

Chair

Email

Direct Number

Architecture 

Jason Oliver

jason.oliver@canyons.edu

(661) 362-3316

Automotive Technology

Kimberly Knight

kimberly.night@canyons.edu

(661) 362-3868

Construction Management & Construction Technology  

Regina Blasberg

regina.blasberg@canyons.edu

(661) 362-5096

Electronic Systems Technology

Justin Hunt

justin.hunt@canyons.edu 

(661) 362-3564

Interior Design

Jason Oliver

jason.oliver@canyons.edu 

(661) 362-3316

Land Surveying

Regina Blasberg

regina.blasberg@canyons.edu

(661) 362-5096

Manufacturing Technology

Tim Baber

tim.baber@canyons.edu

(661) 362-3062

Network Technology

Justin Hunt

justin.hunt@canyons.edu 

(661) 362-3564

Water Systems Technology

Regina Blasberg

regina.blasberg@canyons.edu 

(661) 362-5096

Welding Technology

Tim Baber

tim.baber@canyons.edu

(661) 362-3062

Business

Dean - Dr. Nadia Cotti, 661.362.3408
Administrative Assistant - Ms. Sara Stuart, 661.362.3705

Department  Chair Email Direct Number
Business Gary Quire gary.quire@canyons.edu (661) 362-3693
Computer Applications & Web Technologies Melanie Lipman melanie.lipman@canyons.edu (661) 362-3548
Culinary ArtsHospitality & Wine Studies

Cindy Schwanke

cindy.schwanke@canyons.edu

(661) 362-3655

Economics

Jason Gurtovoy

jason.gurtovoy@canyons.edu

(661) 362-3179
Paralegal Studies Nicole Faudree nicole.faudree@canyons.edu (661) 362-5377
Real Estate Ali Naddafpour ali.naddafpour@canyons.edu (661) 362-5614

Career Education / Integrative Learning 

Dean - Ms. Harriet Happel, 661.362.3653
Administrative Assistant - Ms. Katherine Hernandez, 661.362.3743
Coordinator - Ms. Nancy Sandoval, 661.362.3293

Department Name/Title Email Direct Number

Work Experience Education (WEE) - (formerly CWEE at COC)

Nicole Faudree nicole.faudree@canyons.edu  (661) 362-5377

Integrative Learning

Patty Robinson - Director patty.robinson@canyons.edu (661) 362-3992

Educational Technology, Learning Resources and Online Education

Dean - Mr. James Glapa-Grossklag, 661.362.3632
Administrative Assistant - Mr. Jacob Cable, 661.362.3686

Department Name/Title Email Direct Number
Library Peter Hepburn, Head Librarian peter.hepburn@canyons.edu (661) 362-3758
Online Education Joy Shoemate, Director of Online Education joy.shoemate@canyons.edu (661) 362-3603
The Learning Center (TLC) Mojdeh Mahn, Associate Dean and Director, TLC

October Ryan - Assistant Director, TLC

mojdeh.mahn@canyons.edu


october.ryan@canyons.edu

(661) 362-3346


(661) 362-3172

Enrollment Services / Counseling

Dean - Mr. Clinton Slaughter, 661.362.3298
Administrative Assistant - Ms. Brenda Clarke, 661.362.3261

Department Chair Email Direct Number
Counseling Aivee Ortega (non-instructional)
Erika Torgeson (instructional)
aivee.ortega@canyons.edu
erika.torgeson@canyons.edu 
(661) 362-3312
(661) 362-3912

Health Professions

Acting Deans: Dr. Kathleen Welch and Mr. Timothy McGrath 
Coordinator - Ms. Julie Lutes, 661.362.3557 and Mr. Allen Basallaje, 661.362.3369

Department Chair Email Direct Number

Certified Nursing Assistant

Adina Carrillo

adina.carrillo@canyons.edu

(661) 362-5029

Clinical Laboratory Science
Medical Laboratory Technician
Phlebotomy
Hencelyn Chu hencelyn.chu@canyons.edu (661) 362-3777
Diagnostic Medical Sonography

Lak Dhillon

lak.dhillon@canyons.edu 

(661) 362-3890

Nursing

Adina Carrillo

adina.carrillo@canyons.edu

(661) 362-5029

Occupational Therapy Assistant

Anna Hilary

anna.hilary@canyons.edu 

(661) 362-3557

Pharmacy Tech

Jaya George

jaya.george@canyons.edu 

(661) 362-3891

Physical Therapy Assistant (PTA)

David Pevsner, Faculty Director

david.pevsner@canyons.edu 

(661) 362-3712

Humanities

Dean - Mr. Andy McCutcheon, 661.362.5919
Administrative Assistant - Ms. Arlete Lansdown, 661.362.3117

Department Chair Email Direct Number
Cinema

Max Keller

max.keller@canyons.edu

(661) 362-3591

English Erin Delaney

erin.delaney@canyons.edu

(661) 362-3153
English as a Second Language (ESL) Heather Maclean heather.maclean@canyons.edu (661) 362-5934
Humanities Alene Terzian alene.terzian@canyons.edu (661) 362-5047

Modern Languages & Cultures

Claudia Acosta  claudia.acosta@canyons.edu (661) 362-3530
Philosophy Andrew Jones-Cathcart andrew.jones-cathcart@canyons.edu (661) 362-5378
Sign Language Brittany Applen brittany.applen@canyons.edu  (661) 362-3050

Kinesiology, Health & Wellness, Fitness and Athletics

Dean - Mr. Chad Peters, 661.362.3491
Administrative Assistant - Ms. Lauren Anderson, 661.362.3742

Department Chair Email Direct Number

Kinesiology & Physical Education

Ted Iacenda

ted.iacenda@canyons.edu

 

(661) 362-3526
Recreation Management Brittany Applen, Program Coordinator brittany.applen@canyons.edu (661) 362-3050

Mathematics, Sciences and Engineering

Dean - Dr. David Vakil, 661.362.3078
Administrative Assistant - Ms. Susan Wills, 661.362.3310

Department Chair Email Direct Number
Biological & Environmental Sciences Kelly Cude

kelly.cude@canyons.edu

(661) 362-5801
Chemistry Gretchen Stanton

gretchen.stanton@canyons.edu   

(661) 362-3157
Computer Science Ben Riveira benjamin.riveira@canyons.edu (661) 362-3657

Earth and Space Sciences

Jeremy Patrich

jeremy.patrich@canyons.edu

 

(661) 362-3768
Engineering  Patricia Foley patricia.foley@canyons.edu (661) 362-3374
Mathematics Anzhela Grigoryan anzhela.grigoryan@canyons.edu (661) 362-3106
Physics David Michaels david.michaels@canyons.edu (661) 362-5030

Public Safety

Executive Dean - Dr. Jennifer Brezina, 661.362.3035
Instructional Services Agreement Coordinator - Ms. Kim Arredondo, 661.362.3729

Department Chair Email Direct Number
Administration of Justice Larry Alvarez larry.alvarez@canyons.edu (661) 362-5606
Emergency Medical Technician/
Health Science
Kelly Bronco kelly.bronco@canyons.edu (661) 362-3109
Fire Technology Keith Kawamoto keith.kawamoto@canyons.edu (661) 362-3497

Social and Behavioral Sciences

Dean - Mr. Andy McCutcheon, 661.362.5919
Administrative Assistant - Ms. Lisette Godinez, 661.362.3118

Department Chair Email Direct Number
Anthropology Lisa Malley lisa.malley@canyons.edu (661) 362-3641
Communications Studies Adam Kaminsky adam.kaminsky@canyons.edu   (661) 362-3765
Early Childhood Education Jennifer Paris jennifer.paris@canyons.edu (661) 362-3508
Ethnic Studies Program Katie Coleman, Program Coordinator katie.coleman@canyons.edu  (661) 362-5924
History Sherrill Pennington sherrill.pennington@canyons.edu (661) 362-3717
Political Science/Global Studies David Andrus david.andrus@canyons.edu (661) 362-3052
Psychology Deanna Riveira deanna.riveira@canyons.edu (661) 362-5907
Sociology Katie Coleman katie.coleman@canyons.edu (661) 362-​5924

Visual and Performing Arts

Dean - Dr. Jennifer Smolos Steele, 661.362.3116
Administrative Assistant - Ms. Christy Inberg, 661.362.5013

Department Chair Email Direct Number
Art Michael McCaffrey michael.mccaffrey@canyons.edu (661) 362-3651
Dance Diana Stanich

diana.stanich@canyons.edu

(661) 362-3208
Graphic and Multimedia Design Mark Daybell

mark.daybell@canyons.edu

(661) 362-3066
Media Entertainment Arts David Brill david.brill@canyons.edu (661) 362-5868
Music William Macpherson william.macpherson@canyons.edu (661) 362-3549
Photography Wendy Brill-Wynkoop wendy.brill@canyons.edu (661) 362-3318
Theatre David Stears david.stears@canyons.edu (661) 362-3751